Harry Thurston

Harry Thurston’s environmental writing has been published in many of North America’s leading magazines, including Audubon, Canadian Geographic and National Geographic. He has been awarded numerous writing prizes in both Canada and the United States, including the Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award, the Lane Anderson Award and the Evelyn Richardson Literary Award. His most recent poetry collections include Keeping Watch at the End of the World and The Deer Yard (with Allan Cooper). Thurston lives in Tidnish Bridge, Nova Scotia, and is a Mentor in the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Nonfiction program at University of King’s College. Thurston lives in Tidnish Bridge, Nova Scotia.



[ Large Image ]
Keeping Watch at the End of the World
Harry Thurston

2015 / Poetry / $20.95
9781554471447 / Trade paper / 112 pp


In Keeping Watch at the End of the World, Harry Thurston explores the ways in which poetry stands sentinel at the edge-places where known and unknown meet. Whether that frontier lies between land and sea, present and past, health and illness, or youth and aging, Thurston holds that the poet’s duty is to survey the horizon and “see things before they take shape,” chronicling occurrences both acute and remote. A poet-naturalist in the tradition of Thoreau, Thurston reminds us of the importance of being fully present in the midst of our own brief lives, of shaping what we see into poetry’s “steeped words—dark, light, and sweetened gifts.”



To purchase this title: Add it to your cart

Other Books by this Author

Lost River: The Waters of Remembrance, A Memoir
Harry Thurston

2020 / Memoir, Naturalists, Fishing / $28.95 CAN
9781554472161 / Trade paper / 208 pp
The Deer Yard
Harry Thurston, Allan Cooper

2013 / Poetry / $17.95 CAN
9781554471201 / Trade paper / 64 pp
Broken Vessel: Thirty-five Days in the Desert
Harry Thurston

2007 / Poetry / $15.95 CAN
9781554470341 / Trade paper / 48 pp
A Ship Portrait
Harry Thurston

2005 / Poetry / $49.95 CAN
9781554470075 / Fine / 96 pp
A Ship Portrait
Harry Thurston

2005 / Poetry / $18.95 CAN
9781554470068 / Trade paper / 96 pp
If Men Lived on Earth
Harry Thurston

2000 / Poetry / $39.95 CAN
9781894031233 / Fine / 152 pp
If Men Lived on Earth
Harry Thurston

2000 / Poetry / $14.95 CAN
9781894031226 / Trade paper / 152 pp

new releases catalogue meet the press contact us home page